

## **2020 Annual Report**

The GSAE Foundation, in partnership with GSAE, is dedicated to enhancing the effectiveness of the association community and maximizing the impact of associations on society. There are three essential components of the Foundation's work:

- Supporting the internship grant program
- Supporting the Clifford M. Clarke Award
- Supporting the Abit Massey Lecture Series

The Foundation provides grants to assist Georgia associations hiring interns. The associations receive help that they otherwise would not receive, and the students gain a valuable glimpse into a profession they may not have considered previously. Since 2002, the Foundation has granted over \$57,300 to support the community. Personal contributions and the Foundation Beer Pour at the Annual Meeting support the internship grants. Thank you to our 2020 Foundation Beer Pour sponsors: Athens Convention & Visitors Bureau, Jekyll Island Authority, Map Dynamics.

2020 grants were awarded to ACPE: The Standard for Spiritual Care & Education, the Printing & Imaging Association of Georgia and Southeast Tourism Society.

An endowment funds the Clifford M. Clarke Award. GSAE's highest award is presented to honor a member for an outstanding career of leadership and service to associations in Georgia. It is named for the late Cliff Clarke, president emeritus of the Arthritis Foundation, and the first Georgian to serve as chief elected officer of ASAE. The 2020 recipient of the Clifford M. Clarke Award is Jim Fowler, CAE, President, Atlanta/Georgia Apartment Association.

The Foundation has gratefully accepted an endowment from Abit & Kayanne and the Massey family to support speaker travel costs associated with the annual Abit Massey Lecture Series. We thank Abit & Kayanne and the Massey family for their generous support of GSAE. The 2020 Abit Massey Lecturer, Dr. Stefanie Lindquist, Senior Vice President of Global Academic Initiatives at Arizona State University, will speak in February 2021.

## 2021 GSAE Foundation Trustees

Tangela Monroe, MBA, CAE, chair; Tara Morrison, CAE, CMP, chair elect; Julia Boyd, CAE, treasurer; Jim Fowler, CAE, past chair; Ashley Goodin, CAE, GSAE Board of Directors representative.