Don't forget to activate your account if this is your first time registering for an event since April.. Directions are in the front page "welcome to the new site" article.

GSAE 2017 Award Winners

Community ,

Atlanta, GA - GSAE’s annual awards were presented during its holiday luncheon December 13, 2017 at SunTrust Park Conference Center at The Battery Atlanta. “Our award recipients this year are being recognized for their significant contributions to the success of the society. Each has given their time, energy and talent to support GSAE’s mission and goals,” said Tara Morrison, CAE, CMP, Chair of GSAE’s Board of Directors.

This year’s recipients include the following GSAE members:

Clifford M. Clarke Award:  Jim Moody, CAE, President, Construction Suppliers Association (photo attached).

The Clifford M. Clarke Award is GSAE’s highest recognition, bestowed upon a Georgia association executive who has demonstrated exemplary personal leadership and service. The award honors outstanding accomplishments and service in association management.  Established in 1969, the award is named for the late Clifford M. Clarke, President Emeritus of the Arthritis Foundation.

Alan R. Johnson Award:  Abit Massey, CAE, President Emeritus, Georgia Poultry Federation.

The Alan R. Johnson Award, established in 1994 and named in memory of a past chair of the GSAE Foundation, is given to an association executive in Georgia who has demonstrated qualities of teamwork, vision and servant leadership.

Sharon Hunt Emerging Leader Award:  Julia Boyd, CAE, Director of Certification, Professional Photographers of America

The Sharon Hunt Emerging Leader Award is presented to an association executive with ten years or less of experience in associations who demonstrates leadership through service to GSAE, their own association and to their community. The award was named in 2014 to honor past president Sharon Hunt, CAE, who mentored a generation of association leaders during her career.

Peggy Seigler Corporate Member of the Year Award:  Jeff Sabourin, Director, Global Accounts, Corporate & Events Group, PRG

The Peggy Seigler Corporate Member of the Year is presented to the corporate supplier member who has demonstrated outstanding and continuous service to the association community in Georgia. Named in 2015, the award celebrates the many contributions and memory of Peggy Seigler, MPA, CDME, a beloved and valued member of the community.


Skelton-Massey Award: Karl M. Kirsch, CAE, Vice President, Meeting Expectations.

Given annually in honor of two of GSAE’s past presidents, Benson Skelton and Abit Massey, CAE, the Award recognizes the member who sponsors the most new members, strengthening GSAE in size and effectiveness. 


Chair’s Award:  Lori K. Spear, CAE, Executive Vice President, SAIS.

The Chair’s Award is presented to the member that the chair feels has made a significant contribution to the Society, advancing the aims, ideals and standards of GSAE and association management.


The Stephen Styron Award:  Jennie Nesspor, CAE, Manager, Events and Administration, Georgia Association of Convenience Stores.

The Stephen Styron Award is presented in honor of one of GSAE’s past presidents and the first Georgian to earn the CAE designation. This award is given to the volunteer leader the current chair feels has done the most outstanding job.

Watch the 2017 Awards Video Playlist